The calm at the center of a pearl

July 3, 2007

Wherein lies the path to madness

Filed under: Food — kyraninse @ 1:01 pm

Many food bloggers talk, nay, perhaps the phrase is “fondly complain” of their addiction to cookbooks, much like elderly grandmothers like to go on about their real and imagined infirmities.

No offense to food bloggers and grandmothers everywhere, mind.

I find myself suffering the same problem, except mine is slightly worse, you see.

( ah, here comes the one-upmanship that is so much a part of the ritual)

I don’t follow recipes.

In my pride, hubris, arrogance, I always assume that no one except for myself ever really knows what I want.

Therefore, I add two cups of coco powder when the recipe calls for 4 Tbsp, 6 eggs instead of 4, and the whole recipe goes to seed. Then I pick myself up, try to cajole Chris to eat the fatalities and throw myself unto the breech once more.

But anyways, I had a  craving to bake bread yesterday night, and so here is a recipe that isn’t one for fear that I will never make it again just this way — which I won’t anyways, but there you are.

Honey whole-wheat bread

3/2 cups warm water

1 cup honey

1 Tbsp yeast (probably too much, but there wasn’t a yeasty flavor, so I guess it’s alright)

4 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup melted butter

4/3 cups white flour

Mix the warm water with the honey and the yeast.

Toss in a handful of flour to see if it froths, then continue.

Stir in the rest of the flour until it starts to vaguely look dough-like. It was about 4 cups in when I couldn’t stir it any longer and had to start using my hands.

Knead in the rest of the flour, then knead until it’s smooth and no longer sticks to your hands.

Slather with butter and then leave to let rise, then toss in a 300 degree oven for about an hour, or until it’s golden brown on top.

Once I made really really fluffy, airy bread. I don’t know what I did right that time, because since then and before then, I’ve always had heavy, dense peasant style bread. Perhaps it’s the flour, maybe it’s the honey, but if anyone has any ideas, do share.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

