The calm at the center of a pearl

July 25, 2007

Grouchy@work

Filed under: Journaling — kyraninse @ 6:48 pm

Just when I hit my stride, *boom*, something happens to throw me off again.

So, we have two 15 minute breaks each day, assuming we’re working the full 8 hours a day. 15 minutes in the morning, and 15 minutes in the afternoon. (There is a reason I stated something that is so obvious.)

Now, when I was told this, I assumed that it would be alright to stack the two breaks and take off from work 30 minutes before closing time.

I was wrong.

Then, I assumed that I could tack it onto my lunch break so instead of a measly hour for lunch, I get 75 minutes.

Wrong again. (Although, I did get this information 2nd hand.)

Then, I assumed that it would be alright to leave 15 minutes early from work.

Once again, I’m wrong. (However, I’m still going to do that, since no one has caught me and told me I can’t yet. Besides, there’s really nothing left to do at the end of the day and it isn’t as if I were shirking. )

*sigh* It is horrible, it is. According to the boss, our “breaks” are “a break from work”, and not …

Not what, you ask.

Well, I have to say, I don’t know. I wasn’t there for the enlightenment, that was simply a relay done by a co-worker.

My supervisor says that she doesn’t understand it either, that if the rules were made by her, she’d say that time is time and therefore time can be stacked, stored, or whatever.

I really wish there was someone I could trust in a “higher-up” position who I could ask about this. It doesn’t make any sense for me, and as such, I’d like to know the why and wherefore. I can sort of see the “no leaving before closing time in case someone needs to find you and can’t”, but the “you’re not allowed to tack your breaks onto your lunch hour” just plain doesn’t.

Now I’m happy that I made a chocolate cake this morning. It is at times like this when I say to hell with dietary mores because dammit, I need chocolate cake for breakfast in order to drag myself to work.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

